Wine Blogging Wednesday #46 – White Rhones

Wine Blogging Wednesday #46 is brought to us by Dr. Debs of Good Wine Under $20 and is the theme of White Rhone varietals.  My wine was the 2006 Ferration Pere & Fils Cotes du Rhone Blanc Samorens and it is the 3rd and final wine of my WBW Blogger 3 pack I purchased from domaine547. (Thanks again Jill)

 

The 2006 Samorens is a blend of Grenache Blanc and Clairette, as is produced from the village of Laudun in the Rhone valley of France.

 

My Tasting Notes (sorry no pic, I have it on my other computer at home, not on my laptop with me on vacation)

 

Color – golden

Nose – Pineapple, sautéed ginger, tropical, cooked apple

Taste – Asian pear, cardamom, lime, lemon, apple

Mouthfeel – Medium body, dry across the mid palate, medium acidity and dry at the finish

Finish – long, key lime pie flavor

 

This wine really impressed me, especially for the $12 price tag. I am becoming more and more a fan of the Rhone wines both white and red. I have been a fan of Viognier for quite some time and have just recently gotten turned onto Grenache Blanc, and this one continued to peak my interest for the region.

 

Cheers!

Categories: $10-$20, Wine Blogging Wednesday, wine review | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Wine Blogging Wednesday #46 – White Rhones

  1. Thanks for the terrific review. I am envious that you tasted ginger–a few did this WBW, but I was not one of them! That’s the elusive tasting note for me this time around.

  2. Fantastic find, i’ll be keeping an eye out for it!

  3. I’ll have to keep this one in mind next time I’m at the wineshop. The Samorens sounds like a unique wine, and you can’t beat the price.

  4. Sadly, I missed participating in the WBW White Rhones – the time sort of slipped away and I missed the deadline. Good review!

  5. Sounds like you had as much fun with your Rhone-style white as I did on this Wine Blogging Wednesday!

Leave a comment