Tuesday Quick Sip – 2007 Perazzeta Sara Rosso Toscano

2007 Perazzeta Sara Rosso Toscano

Wine Information –

Region: Tuscany, Montenero d’ Orcia

Grapes: 90% Sangiovese, 10% Ciliegiolo (new grape for me)

Fermentation: 6 months Stainless Steel tanks, no oak aging

Price: $13

perazzetasararossoMy Tasting Notes –

Nose: cooked fruit, fig, blackberry, raisin

Taste: sun-dried tomato, blackberry, boysenberry

Mouthfeel: full bodied, slightly flabby

Finish: medium in length with lots of fruit

I was excited to try this wine, one because it is a good value Tuscan blend and two, because it gave me a new grape for my Wine Century Club, the native Tuscan Ciliegiolo grape. My excitement was quickly shutdown after tasting the wine. Although nothing was necessarily “wrong” with the wine, it wasn’t what I expect in a Tuscan IGT blend. The dark fruit aromas of blackberry and raisined fruit reminded more of a Zin, versus the bright red fruit I would expect. Tuscan wines and Italian wines in general have a good amount of acidity which makes them great food wines, this was flabby to the say the least, no backbone what so ever. I would expect a 2007 to be dead, but maybe I did get a bad bottle. At the price, I may have to give it a second chance.

Cheers!

Categories: $10-$20, wine review | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Tuesday Quick Sip – 2007 Perazzeta Sara Rosso Toscano

  1. winewithmark

    Interesting to see it aged without any barrel at all. Thanks for the review I’m always looking for better Italian wine.

Leave a comment