Is Dom Perignon Rose the next Cristal?

dom-p-rose

What started this thought of Dom P Rose taking over for Cristal in the rap world was when a gentlemen came in the shop the other day to ask for a bottle of ’96 Dom Rose. He was actually quite young so if we had it I would have had to card him, but at the time I thought it was strange request. After a little discussion with one of my wine friends and some lyric Googling on the internet, it turns out the bubbly has been mentioned for quite some time, but not yet to the level of the infamous Cristal. As far back as 2006 when Jay-Z declared that he will no longer be drinking Cristal, in which the same press statement said he will now be filling his flute with Dom P Rose it has been mentioned here and there. In the past few years a splattering of rap/hip-hop songs have donned Dom P Rose in their lyrics.

Notorious BIG Would you die for me – “Splurging, Dom P Rose much foreplay that’s my forte”

K’MaroParoles Take You Away – “what if I take you to Paris au champs elysees maybach hit the city by night, with a dom rose
down in st. tropez “

Jermaine Dupri – “She in the corner sippin’ Dom P Rose

Not the usual topic I write about, but thought it would be an interesting idea to float and see if Dom P Rose will explode in the main stream like Cristal did.

Cheers!

Categories: wine industry issues | Tags: , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Is Dom Perignon Rose the next Cristal?

  1. Great post Senor!

    That photo is hilarious– It is how I spend most weekends down in the ATL.

  2. vcuspoon

    i know that’s how you roll Dirty! I am sure you have the fridge stocked with the DP Rose!

  3. Tugboat

    I hope both of these overpriced-overproduced wines keep in high demand among the luxury item purchasers. More of the RM stuff for me at a fraction of the cost. Most people drink Champagne for the wrong reason. I recently had a grower Champagne with roast chicken. Lovely.

  4. vcuspoon

    Hey Tugboat
    i agree, I love a good Growers Champagne and when I want to drink a Champagne with a meal and not a mimosa that is what i go for.

    thanks for the comment
    cheers

  5. Too funny…I wonder what Paris Hilton drinks…Prosecco? Better go git me some hahaha!

  6. 1986 Dom R with dinner last week. Made that chicken taste like roast pheasant. Sublime! Opened the 1990 Dom Brut the following evening. No letdown, but the Rose is the clear favorite. Maybe, I will finally break open those two six packs of 1990 Dom R. By the way, 1994 Cristal is the wife’s second fav, close to Winston Churchill——especially 1986! Flutes up!

Leave a Reply

