An $11 wine that knocked my socks off!

In these tough economic times everyone is looking for more value for their dollar and wine is no exception. There are a TON of wines out there under $10 and many of them are quite good, I am actually working on an article for a local newspaper on 5 good wines under $10. But finding a GREAT wine in the $10 range is harder but definitely attainable, enter the 2005 Santa Martina Toscana Rosso. At $11.50 (less on the internet) this IGT certified blend of 40% Sangiovese, 20% Cabernet Sauvignon, 20% Merlot and 20% Syrah gives you plenty of bang for your buck. Unfortunately I can’t find any web presence for the wine other than retail so I don’t have any more detail on the wine.

2005santamartinaMy Tasting Notes –

Nose – barnyard, earth, raspberry, cedar

Taste – “barny”, dusty, red currant

Mouthfeel – medium body, ripe acidity and full leathery tannins

Finish – long with red fruit flavors

We had this with tofu parmesan topped with a light tomato sauce and a side of sauteed asparagus. It paired very well, with the acidity in the wine really complimenting the acidity in the tomato sauce. Although the tannins were good and leathery they weren’t overpowering and the combination of mozzarella and parmesan cheeses helped to smooth them out. I had heard good things about this wine but I didn’t expect it to have so many layers of red fruit and good funky earthiness and a complex mouthfeel, I was very impressed. If you are looking for a cheaper alternative to Chianti or Super Tuscans check this out, it seems to have a good distribution so you shouldn’t have trouble finding it.

Categories: $10-$20, wine review | Tags: , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “An $11 wine that knocked my socks off!

  1. Beth

    Can you find a red wine called “La Bamba?” My husband really enjoyed this at my cousin’s wedding and I can’t find it ANYWHERE–but I am not a wine person(I thought he wasn’t, either, but this really tempted his palate)! Thought you could help.

  2. Sounds wonderful! I hope it’s at Total Wine…

  3. g kravitz

    The wine sounds like a real score, but tofu parmesan? Um, seriously?

  4. I think tofu parmesan sounds good. Did you make it? If so, would you post the recipe?

  5. vcuspoon

    hey Megan
    yeah we made it, the recipe is simple. I’ll either post it or email it to ya! 🙂

  6. We’re always looking for winning wines in the $10 category. Many are good, but not many are great–sounds like an awesome find!

  7. Always great to grab one of these find! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

