Wine Blogging Wednesday #54 Announced and a little preview!

wbwlogoDavid McDuff of McDuff’s Food & Wine Trail is this months host for WBW #54: A Passion for Piedmont. Well of course I totally stoked as Piedmont or Piemonte is one of my favorite wine regions to sip wines from as well as one of my favorites to visit. The rules for this WBW are simple, just pick any wine from the Piedmont region of Italy, sip it and write about it! It can be one of the powerful Nebbiolo based varietals such as Barolo or Barberesco or it can be the aromatic Arneis. My excitement for a Piemontese WBW inspired me to pull out a Barbera d’ Alba the other night, so I figured in addition to the announcement I will tack on a little Piedmont wine review.

The wine for the evening was the 2004 Giuseppe Cortese Barbera d’ Alba from within the Barberesco zone of the Piedmont.

Quick Facts on the wine:

Vineyard: .5 hectare in the Trifolera cru

Grape: 100% Barbera

Vinification: fermentation in all stainless steel tanks

Aging: 6 months in bottle before release

cortese_barberadalbaMy Tasting Notes:

Nose: red currant, raspberry, red clay, leather, boysenberry and toast

Taste: rose/floral, dusty, red currant, cherry and tomato

Mouthfeel: medium body, high acidity and medium tannins

Finish: medium to long in length, good fruit

This is a great example of a Barbera, and at $19 a good value. The 2004 Giuseppe Cortese Barbera d’ Alba showed lots of varietal character with good acidity and lots of red fruit flavors. The only thing that was perplexing after reading the information on the wines website was the aroma of toast, since the wine so no oak aging. I am not sure what I was picking up to give me that aroma, oh well. We drank this with some sun-dried tomato risotto and it paired great. When I have the ability, I love pairing wine and food from the same region.

Stay tuned on February 19th for the Wine Blogging Wednesday #54 to see what delight that I choose from the Piedmont region.

Cheers!

Categories: wine tasting | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Wine Blogging Wednesday #54 Announced and a little preview!

  1. Hey John,
    Thanks for helping to spread the word. I’ll look forward to your report on the 18th.
    cheers,
    David

  2. I love the wine from Piedmont too, but I just don’t drink as much of them as I would like. Wierd because every time I taste a nice Barolo or Barbaresco I’m reminded of just how much I love Nebbiolo and especially the aromatics. Love what you’re doing with your blog. I linked you up on mine!

Leave a Reply

