Wine Book Club #1 – Vino Italiano

Today is the due date for the first book report for the Wine Book Club. The wine book club was the idea of Dr Debs from the blog Good Wine Under $20, as great way to share our thoughts and views on literature with other wine bloggers and to help reduce the stack of wine books next to most of our beds.

The task of deciding on the first choice of reading material for the book club was giving to David of McDuff’s Food and Wine Trail.  He chose a book that I did not actually have on the shelf titled Vino Italiano, but luckily it was in stock at the local Barnes and Noble.

Well I have to admit that if we were back in 2nd grade, I would probably get a C- on this report.  Unfortunately I did not read the whole book but I feel that I read enough to give a good run down and answer a few of the questions that David gave as “helpers” for our book report.

Each chapter of the book gives you great detail into the different wine making regions of Italy. The chapters start with a wonderful narrative of the authors visit to that specific region. I think this is the part of the book that separates it from other wine books. To give a metaphor from our beloved industry, if each chapter were a glass of wine, the beginning page or two would symbolize, for me, the terroir. 

The amount of information in this book is staggering, but I guess most books on the subject of wine are this way.  For that reason, I think that the best utilization of this book would be as a reference tool, a great one at that.  I wish I had had this book last year before we went to Italy, it would have been quite helpful.  It has opened my eyes to new varietals that I now have in the wine cellar, that in future blog posts I will point out as purchases due to the book. 

I am totally pleased with this book and am glad I have it on my shelf.  I wish I had read more chapters, as I only read about ½ of the book prior to this review, but what I did read either clarified facts or taught me a BUNCH of new ones.

Great suggestion David and a successful first book club meeting Dr. Debs.

Cheers!

Categories: Wine Book Club, wine books | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Wine Book Club #1 – Vino Italiano

  1. That’s weird. I could have sworn I left a comment here last night, but a comment on my own blog didn’t go through, so maybe something was wonky!

    I was going through reading the reviews and feeling better about many of them, since a lot of people didn’t finish. 🙂

  2. Thanks for participating, John. I like your terroir analogy, a good way to sum up the chapter opening anecdotes.

  3. Ummm, I’ve been wanting to read this book, thanks for the info.

  4. sdshspress

    Sounds like a great book club.
    The South Dakota State Historical Society Press has a new book about wine growing and making in South Dakota, Wyoming, and Nebraska coming out in August.
    The Press would be interested in sending your group a couple of copies of this book in uncorrected manuscript version for you to review and comment on. If this is something you would be interested in, please contact me (contact details on the contact page of http://www.sdshspress.com) and we can work out how to proceed.
    Thanks
    Martyn

Leave a Reply

